PDA

View Full Version : Is this just a map with a bunch of filters?

Pete
06-06-2012, 10:06 PM
Hi,

I'm a software developer and was handed a website design (as a photoshop file) and access to dsSearchAgent and told I could make the website look the way they want using dsSearchAgent. Maybe I'm going crazy but it looks like the only thing I can do is display the map and basically specify various filters. This is fine for some of our links where we want exactly this behavior.

Another thing I need to be able to do is something like get the top 5 most expensive listings for a given area and basically display a photo of them along with a bit of information and link to a page that gives details about it. Kind of like a "showcase" page and I would like to have different ones for different areas.

Do you guys offer either:

A web service API
XML feed

My last concern is around the "Quick Search" module. It doesn't look like it's very customizable and the output is a table (I thought we stopped using tables for non tabular data)? The price min and max are just textboxes so my user can look for a max price of "hamburger" if they want. Can I create my own Quick Search form or at the very least convert those textboxes into selects so I can specify values and have it dropdown.

Daveed
06-08-2012, 05:21 PM
Hi Pete,

dsSearchAgent itself is customizable in the sense that you can change the color scheme and choose what Options to include in the Search itself which would be the Options that would allow your Users to alter the Results, but not much else past that. When you're embedding dsSearchAgent, it's really just Script Code that you're embedding onto whatever page you want on your Website.